LRWSC Places Top Ten in the Province


On September 1, 2020, the Alberta Recycling Management Authority (ARMA) initiated a two-year expanded residential electronics pilot project. 

The pilot project included collection of items like audio visual equipment, telecom, cell phone and wireless devices, electronic gaming equipment, small home appliances, portable power tools, toys, musical instruments, and small solar panels.  There was no charge to the collectors to recycle these items for the duration of the pilot.  The data that ARMA will gather from this project, will enable them to provide the government with critical information that will help to determine the best course of action to modernize the electronics recycling program for the long term. 

For a 16-month period from September 1, 2020 to December 31, 2021 ARMA tallied the total amount of pilot program material brought in from each registered collector within the province and held a contest to see which collector could gather the most pilot program material on a per capita basis.  

Lacombe Regional Waste Services Commission registered four of its sites as collectors for the expanded electronics program, and at the conclusion of the 16-month period, LRWSC finished in the top 10 collectors in the province.  The successful top ten finish for LRWSC in this program is a result of the residents of Lacombe County separating recyclable electronics from their waste, taking the time to bring the items to one of our sites, and following instructions on where to place the items for recycling. 

Congratulations to the people of Lacombe County for being a top ten electronics recycler in the Province of Alberta!


Pictured left to right are LRWSC employees Jeff Armishaw, Rod Clarke, and Mitch Frew